2024 HFNZ Awards celebrate the best Black and White cows in the biz

The best of the Holstein Friesian breed was celebrated at the 2024 Holstein Friesian NZ Awards, held in Hamilton last night as part of the 2024 HFNZ AGM & Conference. 

Just over 100 Holstein Friesian breeders, sponsors and supporters gathered at Distinction Hotel to see awards presented to breeders whose animals excelled in production, performance, progeny, components, youth, showing and photography categories. 

The 2024 Valden Cow of the Year was awarded to Royson Oman Cybil EX2 11* ET, bred by Eddie and Kath Lambert of Whakatane (Royson Farms Ltd). 

Chosen from six finalists, 2008-born Cybil was deemed to be the cow that had contributed the most to the Holstein Friesian breed on a continual basis.

“We’re not only tremendously proud, but exceptionally humbled to be in the company of such successful breeders, particularly in the Valden Cow of the Year,” Eddie Lambert said.

The Lamberts were also the recipients of the 2024 Mahoe Trophy for Royson MG Currency S3F, with 517 points.

Henley Farming Company Ltd (Nathan and Amanda Bayne, Oamaru) was again the convincing winner of the 2024 Holstein Friesian NZ Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health Senior and Junior Progeny Competitions with San Ray FM Beamer-ET S2F (455 points) and Lightburn Blade Gusto (320 points) teams respectively.  

These awards are presented to the Junior and Senior Progeny teams with the highest points for classification based on the 2023/24 seasons inspections, scores for udder overall and final score, production worth and protein BV. 

Lakeside Dairies Ltd (David and Carrie Johnson, Putaruru) was the overall winner of the 2024 Nutritech Performance Awards with $6,317.41.  

This prize is awarded to the herd owner with the highest dollar earning herd average for their region based on the Fonterra A+B-C payment system for the 2022/23 season. 

In the Black & White Youth Awards, Jacoba Gread of Ohinewai won the Kingsland Trophy, awarded to the Senior Black & White Youth Member who earned the most points in the 2024 All NZ Calf Class Competition. Jacoba was also the overall winner of the 2024 All NZ Black & White Youth Calf Class Competition, and the winner of the 2024 Frank Pfister Award, awarded to the highest scoring youth member at an official Holstein Friesian NZ Judging School. 

In the 2024 Black & White Youth Photo Competition, Hayley Ferrier placed first in the Junior section and Jacoba Gread placed first in the Senior section. The winners were judged on calf conformation, background, presentation of animal and presentation of handler by 2024 judges John Wakelin and Karl Wood.

There was also several special awards presented at the awards dinner, including a Distinguished Award to Dave Mitchell (Penistone Holstein Friesians) and two Honorary Life Memberships to Wayne Taylor (Muritai Holsteins) and Doug Courtman (Carse-O-Fern Holstein Friesians).



  • Arapeta Trophy: Hayley Ferrier, Otorohanga 
  • Kingsland Trophy: Jacoba Gread, Ohinewai 
  • All NZ Calf Class Competition: Jacoba Gread, Ohinewai 
  • Paramount Cup: Riley Taylor, Opunake  
  • Dennis Terry Memorial Trophy: Elyse Hogan, Feilding 
  • McDonald Family Trophy: Hayley Ferrier, Otorohanga 
  • Frank Pfister Award: Jacoba Gread, Ohinewai  
  • Pitcairns Trophy: Miriam Cook, Ashburton 
  • Black & White Youth Photo Competition – Junior: Hayley Ferrier, Otorohanga
  • Black & White Youth Photo Competition – Senior: Jacoba Gread, Ohinewai
  • Aitken Family Senior Youth Heifer Competition: Gabrielle Scherer, Morrinsville with Charbelle Doc Pixie VG86
  • HFNZ Scholarship: J Gread (Ohinewai) and L Midgley (Hawera)


  • Boehringer Ingelheim Progeny Competition Senior Team: Henley Farming Company Ltd, Oamaru with San Ray FM Beamer-ET S2F 
  • Boehringer Ingelheim Progeny Competition Junior Team: Henley Farming Company Ltd, Oamaru with Lightburn Blade Gusto  
  • Valden Cow of the Year: Royson Oman Cybil EX2, Eddie and Kath Lambert, Whakatane (Royson Farms Ltd)
  • Mahoe Trophy: Royson MG Currency S3F, Eddie and Kath Lambert, Whakatane (Royson Farms Ltd)
  • Overall Nutritech Performance Award: Lakeside Dairies Ltd, David and Carrie Johnson, Putaruru $6,317.41 
  • Snowline Trophy: Arapuni Mint Patricia S0F GP82 (Lakeside Dairies Ltd, David and Carrie Johnson, Putururu) with $7,748.23 
  • World Wide Sires Protein Awards: Overall winner Penoak Beam Mandy S2F, CView Trust (Buelin Holsteins, Hawera) with 535kg protein 
  • Tokaora Trophy: Charbelle Tatoo Pearl VG89 (Charbelle Farms Ltd, Morrinsville) with 233 points 
  • Sherriff Memorial Trophy: Trilogy Farms Ltd, Taranaki (Mathew Moffitt and Isabelle Phipps) with an average score of 83.83 
  • Withers Trophy: Paynes Trapeze Suzi S1F GP83 (Payne Farms Ltd, Brad Payne, Cambridge)


  • Lenslea Trophy: Holly Powell, Palmerston North 
  • Virtual Autumn Heifer Competition: Quinedale Tatoo B Wazi VG86 (Quinedale, Shneil Singh, Taupiri)
  • Promotional Photo Competition: Cathy Copinga, Te Puke 
  • Show Champion – North Island Junior Champion: Waipiri Lambd Tonio – DB & PS Fullerton & Family
  • Show Champion – North Island Supreme Champion: Charbelle Tatoo Pix EX – Charbelle Farms Ltd
  • Show Champion – South Island Junior Champion: Waiview Mafia Cherry – GM & AM Woolley
  • Show Champion – South Island Supreme Champion: Parlan Rambo Shill – Parkes Family
  • Show Champion – Royal Show Supreme Champion: Tahora Octane Love VG89 – Landell Holdings Ltd
  • Show Champion – NZ Dairy Event Junior Champion: Glenidol Lambda Cookie – T Whytock
  • Show Champion – NZ Dairy Event Supreme Champion: Tahora Mogul Paris VG89 – A Dreadon/DB & PS Fullerton Partnership
  • DeLaval All NZ Photo Competition Class 1: Sherraine Solomon Evie EX2 – Sherraine Holsteins Ltd
  • DeLaval All NZ Photo Competition Class 2: Tahora Mogul Paris VG89 – A Dreadon/DB & PS Fullerton Partnership
  • DeLaval All NZ Photo Competition Class 3: Belbrook Crushabul Eireen – Belbrook Farming Ltd
  • DeLaval All NZ Photo Competition Class 4: Te Hau KD Glitter – Te Hau Genetics
  • DeLaval All NZ Photo Competition Class 5: Charbelle Parfect Macy – L O’Reilly

Add a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment